UNT Cybersecurity Symposium

Cybersecurity Symposium

Discourses in cybersecurity to further our understanding of the issues and challenges. The symposium connects academics and professionals for engaging conversations

Symposium Chairs

Gurpreet Dhillon

Dr. Gurpreet Dhillon is the G. Brint Ryan Endowed Chair of Artificial Intelligence and Cybersecurity. He graduated with a Ph.D. from the London School of Economics (UK). In 2019 he received an Honorary Doctorate from Örebro University (Sweden). Gurpreet has published nearly 100 peer-reviewed journal articles in some of the top-tier outlets, including FT50 journals. Gurpreet is also an author of over a dozen books, all related to information technology and cybersecurity. His research and teaching interests lie in the interface between technology and organizations. In particular, his focus has been on managing information security in organizations and ensuring the integrity of business operations. Gurpreet has advised over two dozen doctoral students. His expert comments have appeared in the New York Times, USA Today, Business Week, CNN, NBC News, NPR, TEDx, among others.

Dipak Pravin

Dr Dipak P Pravin is an Assistant Clinical Professor at Information Technology and Decision Sciences Department with the G Brint Ryan College of Business at UNT. He graduated with a PhD in Computer Science from the University of Texas at Dallas. In February 2022, he was designated Fulbright Specialist in Cybersecurity for a 4-year term. He is also an alumnus of Dallas FBI's Citizens Academy and a member of FBI's Infragard group. After a career spanning over 25 years in Software Engineering and Software Engineering Management he joined UNT to teach and conduct research in the areas of Cybersecurity, Databases and Networking. Since then, he has published research at The Americas Conference on Information Systems (AMCIS) and received research grants from the Department of Homeland Security (DHS).

G. Brint Ryan College of Business

The University of North Texas College of Business is a constituent college of the University of North Texas in Denton. It is organized in five academic departments — (i) Accounting, (ii) Finance, Insurance, Real Estate & Law (FIREL), (iii) Information Technology & Decision Sciences, (iv) Management, and (v) Marketing & Logistics. The College also has six interdisciplinary centers — (a) the Center for NAFTA Studies, (b) the Information Systems Research Center, (c) the Institute of Petroleum Accounting, (d) the Murphy Center for Entrepreneurship (e) the Professional Leadership Program, and (f) the Center for Logistics Education & Research. The College awards Bachelors, Masters, and Doctor of Philosophy degrees.


October 26-27, 2023


Register Here

Contact US

Name E-mail Message Submit